Connect with us


Mexico name World Cup Squad

Mexico manager Javier Aguirre has named his provisional 26 man squad for the World cup.

While their are no surprising inclusions or omitions from Aguirre he has opted to include only 5 midfielders in the Dos Santos brothers Jonathan and Giovanni, Andres Guardado, Gerrardo Torrado and Israel Castro.

Although the likes of Raphael Marques can fill in at midfield and new Manchester United Chicharito may be able to drop deeper it is a risky option for Aguire whose team  could suffer in the event of injuries and suspensions.

Mexico first team players

Carlos Vela, Javier Hernandez (Chicharito) and Guillermo Franco are the only inclusions currently plying their trade in the UK (Arsenal, Man Utd and West Ham Utd respectivley).

The 26 man preliminary squad is as follows;

Goalkeepers: Oscar Perez (Chiapas), Guillermo Ochoa (America), Luis Ernesto Michel (Guadalajara)

Defenders: Rafael Marquez (Barcelona), Ricardo Osorio (Stuttgart), Francisco Rodriguez, Carlos Salcido (both PSV Eindhoven), Hector Moreno (AZ Alkmaar), Paul Aguilar (Pachuca), Efrain Juarez (Pumas UNAM), Jonny Magallon (Guadalajara), Juan Carlos Valenzuela (America), Jorge Torres Nilo (Atlas), Adrian Aldrete (Morelia)

Midfielders: Andres Guardado (Deportivo La Coruna), Jonathan dos Santos (Barcelona), Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul), Israel Castro (Pumas UNAM), Giovani dos Santos (Galatasaray, on loan from Tottenham)

Forwards: Pablo Barrera (Pumas UNAM), Adolfo Bautista, Alberto Medina (both Guadalajara), Cuauhtemoc Blanco (Veracruz), Carlos Vela (Arsenal), Javier Hernandez (Manchester United), Guillermo Franco (West Ham).

(Visited 35 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Mexico