Connect with us

Current Affairs

PFA Players’ Player of the Year Award, The Nominees.

Sports News - March 21, 2010
Wayne Rooney, Cesc Fabregas, Didier Drogba and Carlos Tevez are all in contention for the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award. Rooney is the front runner having netted 34 goals for Man Utd this season and if the tireless striker grabs the award it will be the fourth successive year it has gone to one of Fergie’s red devil’s. Other nominees include African footballer of the year Didier Drogba, young and talented Spanish play maker Cesc Fabregas and Man City’s tenacious striker Carlos Tevez  who was described by the great Diego Maradona as the “Argentine prophet for the 21st century”. 
Premier League: Arsenal 2 v 0 West Ham United
The in form players that have fallen short of the four nominees include England’s and Chelsea’s impressive Frank Lampard who has netted 17 goals in the Premier League for the blues, young Aston Villa midfielder James Milner who will have to settle for nomination for the young player of the year award, as does Birmingham’s on loan keeper Joe Hart who has been impressive between the posts this season. Other great players this season include Richard Dunne, Florent Malouda, Darren Bent, Jermain Defoe and of course Bobby Zamora, however all these players haven’t done enough to secure a nomination for the award. Ryan Giggs currently holds the award after his tremendous performance last season in spite of his age but will not be in consideration for this years award after a difficult season struggling to maintain fitness and avoid injuries. Ashley Young received the young player award last season and fellow Villa and England teammate James Milner will hope to emulate this when the awards take place.

Sports News - April 03, 2010

Rooney and Fabregas are both also nominated for the young player of the year Andy Gray, the former Aston Villa and Scotland striker and Portuguese winger Cristiano Ronaldo achieved the feat in 1977 and 2007 respectively . The United striker and Arsenal midfielder have already won the young player award in the past. Rooney triumphed in 2005 and 2006, while Fabregas succeeded in 2008.

Football - Manchester City v Wigan Athletic Barclays Premier League

The Spaniard’s chances of winning may be hindered by his current injury that will see him miss the season, he has been a huge asset for the Gunner’s this season netting 15 goals and gifting 15 assists for Arsenal in the league. Drogba has been in impressive form for Chelsea scoring 32 goals in all competitions this season looking to break his record of 33 goals in the 2006-07 season for the blues, the striker has seemingly reduced his theatrical diving to everyones delight. Carlos Tevezthe bulldog striker for Manchester City has bagged himself 28 goals in his debut season for the club after the controversial move across Manchester for £25.5 million. However the favourite to take the award, Wayne Rooney has scored 34 goals for his club in all competitions, his best goalscoring record for the red’s. Rooney has shown determination by improving his heading which was often criticized and is himself recovering from an injury with the prayers of England fans behind his recovery. Personally I think that Wayne Rooney deserves the award; his humbleness off the pitch and determination on it has seen him enjoy his best season in the notorious red, black and white kit.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Current Affairs