Connect with us


Portsmouth announce Squad Numbers

Pompey have announced the official squad numbers for the season, at last!

This will allow fans to purchase their latest Danny Webber shirt, or a shirt christened by the name O’Hara.

Although this may not be considered newsworthy, it’s a welcome chance to see that we do in fact have a reasonably sized squad.

Manager Paul Hart has handed shirt numbers to a selection of youth players including Joel Ward, Gautier Mahoto, James Hurst and Luke Wilkinson.

Defender Joel Ward and midfielder Gautier Mahoto both recently made their senior debuts against Hereford Utd, in the second round of the League Cup.

James Hurst, 17, is a highly-rated left-back who has already represented England at youth level. Pompey signed him in the summer of 2008, facing stiff competition from sides including Manchester United and Arsenal for his signature.

Wilkinson, a central defender, only joined up with the squad a number of months ago, after securing a deal when impressing on trial.

He featured a couple of times during pre-season and was previously released from Championship side Bristol City.

Pompey’s 09/10 Squad

1. David James GK

2. Linvoy Primus DF

3. Younes Kaboul DF

4. Aaron Mokoena MF

5. Jamie O’Hara MF

6. Hayden Mullins MF

7. Hermann Hreidarsson DF

8. Papa Bouba Diop MF

9. Frederic Piquionne ST

11. Michael Brown MF

12. Pompey Fans

14. Mike Williamson DF

15. Antii Niemi GK

16. Steve Finnan DF

17. John Utaka MF/ST

18. Anthony Vanden Borre DF/MF

19. Danny Webber ST

20. Tommy Smith ST/MF

21. Jamie Ashdown GK

22. Richard Hughes MF

23. Kevin Prince-Boateng MF

24. Aruna Dindane ST

26. Tal Ben Haim DF

27. Nwankwo Kanu ST

31. Asmir Begovic GK

32. Hassan Yebda MF

33. Angelos Basinas MF

35. Marc Wilson DF

39. Nadir Belhadj DF

40. Joel Ward DF

42. Gautier Mahoto MF

43. James Hurst DF

44. Luke Wilkinson DF

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Portsmouth