Connect with us


Socceroos Squad named for South Africa match

New Australian coach Pim Verbeek has selected an 18 man squad for the upcoming friendly against South Africa.

The game will be played at Loftus Road Stadium in London on Tuesday 19 August 2008.

Pim gave his reasons for some of the selections:

“I have not selected any Hyundai A-League players in this squad because the match falls just at the beginning of the new Hyundai A-League season.

“I am very appreciative of the generosity of the coaches in the Hyundai A-League earlier this year, in letting players join the national team in the season, but it’s important now when a new season starts that the Hyundai A-League can start with full strength squads.”

Squad for game:
Michael Beauchamp – Aalborg BK, Denmark
Mark Bresciano – US Palermo, Italy
Nick Carle – Crystal Palace FC, England
Scott Chipperfield – FC Basel, Switzerland
Chris Coyne – Colchester United FC, England
Jason Culina – PSV Eindhoven, Netherlands
Brett Emerton – Blackburn Rovers, England
Vincenzo Grella – Torino FC Spa, Italy
Brett Holman – AZ Alkaamar, Netherlands
Josh Kennedy – Karlsruhe SC, Germany
Harry Kewell – Galatasaray SK, Turkey
Scott McDonald – Celtic FC, Scotland
Lucas Neill – West Ham United FC, England
Michael Petkovic – Sivasspor, Turkey
Mark Schwarzer – Fulham FC, England
Mile Sterjovski – Derby County FC, England
Carl Valeri – U.S. Grosseto FC, Italy
Luke Wilkshire – FC Twente, Holland

In other news:

Australia have risen to 38 in the FIFA World Rankings which now places them 2nd in Asia behind Japan who sit in 35th position

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Australia